I am back from one of my many disappearances. The last post I put up was weeks ago with a contact form so people could ask questions. And ask you all did! I had no idea that many people were interested in diy perfume, I love it. But hey, let’s talk about life.

The baby is currently doing this highly coordinated military exercise that she performs instead of actually walking – she crawls at lightning speed across the floor as though it’s the sandy beaches of Normandy then when she locates her walker she hops up and takes off down the hallway then turns around and comes right back. Screaming all the while.

Lately I’ve been focused on writing. I took a workshop to get my novel in shape and that was all well and good until the class ended and then I got distracted like I do. Now I’m writing short stories that I’m trying to get published and as many of my writer friends out there know the process is DEMORALIZING. Why God, why do we do this to ourselves? Hopefully something good comes of it this year.

As for what I’m reading since I started doing that again too…I’m reading seriously 5 books and two lit mags. Zelda, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Curtsies and Conspiracies, and Black Apples. I am loving Black Apples, it’s an anthology of dark fairy tale re-tellings. The lit mags I’m obsessed with are Shimmer and Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet. Funny story about Shimmer…I subscribed and the editor replied…turns out she wears my perfume! Small world. I want to submit to both but wow that will sting when I inevitably get rejected because those two are SO GOOD. I’m thinking about starting my own fairy tale/fantasy online journal just on tumblr for people who love writing these stories and just want to get them out there. Because all the billion projects I’m doing aren’t enough amirite?

Oh and Circa! That one is a historical fiction online journal. SO UP MY ALLEY. Seriously friends, check all those out and if you have suggestions for me, put them in the comments.

Lastly in this update I will mention my upcoming craft show appearances. I’ll be at Tigerlily Perfumery in San Francisco on July 17. I’ll also be at the Renegade Wholesale show in SF July 18 but I believe that is only open to store owners/buyers. I’ll be back in Los Angeles at Renegade (my fav as you can see) July 26 & 27 and then Renegade Brooklyn in September. My first East Coast show!

So hopefully I’ll see you. Hope everyone is doing well, I need to post more so we can talk.

