Tags

, , , , ,

Binx is either afraid of the pumpkin or putting a curse on you with her eyes.

Someone up there loves me because my ongoing mystery illness has been subsiding this last week just in time for my favorite holiday. I didn’t make any plans in the event that I still feel terrible, health in this case is more symbolic. But the last two days I’ve actually been eating and leaving the house for 3-4 hours at a time WITHOUT INCIDENT!

I digress. Back to Halloween. First off, it’s my brother’s birthday which irritates me that he got world’s coolest birthday. He doesn’t love dead things the way I do. Secondly, since I love history and haven’t written about history in a while, here’s an ultra-mini history of Halloween.

My Celtic ancestors were seriously amazing. They were crazy and I love them for it. They had this festival called Samhain (I’m pretty sure Wiccans still call Halloween that) (why do I know so much about this stuff?). They believed that the veil between this world and the next thinned and allowed the free passage of spirits to roam the earth. The Celts would light bonfires and wear masks to ward off any nasty ghosts that may be about. And people were totally fine with this arrangement until, like everything else, the Catholics had to come appropriate Samhain for themselves. I’m Catholic, I can say these things. Anyway, Pope Gregory III was all like, the Celts are having way too much fun we want in. So he decreed that November 1 would be All Saints Day which as we all know has morphed into something awesome called Dia de Los Muertos. All Saints Day appropriated the Celtic Samhain traditions. The night before All Saints Day was called All Hallows’ Eve which you already knew because you watched Hocus Pocus everyday as a child. Just me? Everything has to be a fight between good and evil with these religious types so All Hallows’ Eve, which over time became known as Halloween, was the more sinister of the days. From there, someone had the utter brilliance of incorporating pumpkins and candy. Halloween.

There’s probably more to the story, but I told you, ultra-mini today. Sales have been down due to the hurricane on the East Coast (seriously, hope you guys are ok and are able to get out and vote next week!!), but I thought it fitting that I woke up to the sale of three bottles of Dead Writers perfume. Halloween.

