Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

For fans of Georgiana, the title of this post is written in jest, you’ll find out why below. For those of you who don’t know who Georgiana is, or if you just don’t like Keira Knightley which seems to me the only reason why you would not have heard of the Duchess, it’s story time.

Georgiana Spencer (Princess Diana’s great-great-grandaunt) was delighted to find out that she had caught the eye of the influential (and rich!) Duke of Devonshire. Always the aristocrat, Georgiana supported her husband’s political affiliations with friendliness and charm – becoming at one point one of the chief fashionistas in England. She was even pen-pal to Marie Antoinette. However, difficulty in producing an heir led her husband to grow distant and he began a not-so secret affair with Georgiana’s friend Lady Elizabeth Foster. The trio lived as a ménage-a-trois (not by Georgiana’s choice) for the rest of her life.

Despite her marital unhappiness, Georgiana found solace in the arms of Charles Grey who later became Prime Minister. They had an illegitimate daughter whom Georgiana was forced to give up. Charles Grey is the namesake of the ever popular Earl Grey Tea. She died at the age of 48 most likely due to alcoholism.

One day whilst searching for information on historical figures, like I do, I found a website written as a gossip blog in Georgiana’s “voice.” It’s called The Duchess of Devonshire’s Gossip Guide to the 18th Century, and while it’s a cheeky Georgian version of TMZ, it’s clear that the author’s focus is history because there’s tons of interesting stuff I didn’t know. They even have a Tart of the Week section!! Anytime someone uses the word “tart” as an insult I feel warm and fuzzy inside. I wish all people would talk like that, I’d be less weird. There’s also a companion site for Marie Antoinette but we’ll talk about that tart later. While the discovery of these sites validated the fact that there are other people out there like me, I was kind of jealous I hadn’t thought of it first.

Anyway, the point. So, as you know I make perfumes. I read a lot of historical fiction, and biographies for that matter, and thought it would be cool to make perfumes inspired by what I think historical figures might have worn based on their personalities. I love grandeur and tragedy because I’m crazy.

Georgiana was one of the first I made. This perfume is dedicated to the star-crossed lovers by a mix of Black Tea and Bergamot (ingredients of Earl Grey Tea) as well as the delicate florals of Jasmine and Lavender. I giggled like an absolute school girl when I realized that not only had I made a pleasant perfume, but I’d made one that smelled like Earl Grey tea. Because Georgiana and Lord Grey were lovers. SEE WHAT I DID THERE?!?!?! As of last night I only have one more bottle left of Georgiana. But don’t worry, I’m going to make more. It just takes about a month for it to be pretty and I wasn’t expecting it to be popular so let’s chalk it up to poor planning on my part and call it a day.

If you are intrigued by Georgiana’s story, you should read Amanda Foreman’s biography which the 2008 movie The Duchess, starring Keira Knightley, is based on. The original title of the book was Georgiana, The Duchess of Devonshire, but since the movie came out you might only find it as The Duchess.

